The Finnish silver 10 Euro coin which was issued for the year of 2006 commemorates the 100th anniversary of parliamentary reforms in Finland.

On the 9th of May 1906 the Parliament of Finland was founded, in native tongue called “Eduskunta”, while still being under Russian rule which was in effect from 1809 until 1917, when the Russian empire collapsed under the effects of the October revolution.

Red Guard unit of the Vulkan factory in Petrograd, October 1917. * Source ;

Between 1200 A.D. and 1809 Finland had been part of the Swedish Empire before the Russians took over control over the Finnish lands. Under Russian rule the Fins had quite an autonomous place within the grand Slavic Empire, but new bills had to be signed accordingly by the Russian Emperor, and the might of the military was also in powerful control of the Russians.

Since the foundation of the “Eduskunta” in 1906, the Parliament has also been dissolved fourteen times, with the most recent dating back to the 4th of June 1975 because of a dispute over the budget that was needed for developing land.

The first session of the new Parliament in 1907. * Source ;

All Finnish citizens who are least 18 years old when the elections for the Parliamentary are held, are entitled to vote for their candidates of choice. From the thirteen electoral districts that make up Finland, 199 representatives are chosen, with the final representative always coming from Aland completing the 200 total representatives that make up the new Parliament.

The Finnish 10 Euro from 2006 concerns a non circulating coin where of the regular variant 40,000 pieces were produced, and 20,000 pieces were minted of the Proof version. The coin has a total weight of 25,5 grams and is made up of 0.925 Fine Silver.

When set out against the silver percentage, the weight of the net silver amounts to 23,5875 grams. With today’s spot price (27 October 2020) the melt value of the 10 Euro coin is €16,35 Euro / $19.35.


On the obverse the heads of a man and a woman are depicted in a stylished way, together with in lettering stating : Suomi, which is Finnish for Finland.

The reverse shows the hands of a man and a woman, who are folding their votes into the ballot box. The text on this side states : Eduskuntauudistis, which translates to the Parliament of Finland.

Parliament House in central Helsinki. * Source ;

And there’s also lettering on the edge of the coin : Lantdagsreformen 1906, translating to “Parliamentary reforms 1906”.

The Sterling Silver 10 Euro coin was produced by the Royal Dutch Mint as part of the “Eurocoin Collection”, which consists of 72 Euro coins totaling 1,437 grams / 46.2006 ozt of pure silver.

All 72 pieces of the Eurocollection (Royal Dutch Mint). * Source ;

As we look into the commemorative 2 Euro coin issued for 2006, we can see the political theme continuing where the subject is “Universal Suffrage”, which was instituted on the 1st of October 1906. Finland was actually one of the first countries where women were allowed to take part in the voting.

Usually the coins in the Eurocoin Collection have no outer ring, and also most of the Finnish 10 Euro coins from 2006 have no outer ring, but some some coins in this collection are outfitted with an outer ring.

The diameter of the ring 55 mm and it’s made from gold plated brass. On the obverse the outer ring has a decorative design with 12 stars referring to the European Union, with in the bottom the issuing year of 2006 depicted.

The text on the outer ring of the reverse in Dutch states : Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt – Eurocollectie, which in English means : Royal Dutch Mint – Eurocollection. The motivation of this gold plated brass outer ring was to make a resemblance to the 1 and 2 Eurocoins which also are bimetallic.